DIY Braided T-shirt Scarf

22 Apr

Sounds like a lot of you had fun creating some t-shirt spaghetti scarves! When I stopped by goodwill to drop off my bag of clothes, I spotted a few Large t-shirts in great spring colors for only .49 cents! So I was inspired to do some more projects with them. One of which was this Braided T-shirt Scarf which is very similar to the Spaghetti T-shirt Scarf I showed you in this post.

Thought I’d share how I made it. Interested? Here’s how you do it…

Step One

Pick a fairly wide shirt in a color you like.

Step Two

Cut off bottom seam and under the armpits.

Step Three

Turn horizontally and cut into one inch strips but DO NOT cut all the way off. Leave about one inch attached at the top . Now stretch the strips until they curl slightly and are at the desired length you want. (This is just like in the spaghetti scarf tutorial.) Now you are going to separate the strips in the middle.

Step Four

Here’s where it gets a little tricky to explain so you might have to rely heavily on the images below. Take the right side of strips that you separated. Now take the top half of those strips and cut them (I cut off 9 strips  for an even looking braid). You will be left with the left side of strips in loops and the right side of really long strips no longer looped.

Step 5

Now you will take your really long strips and braid them. It helps to put a book or something at the top to hold down the fabric so you can braid it. I split my nine strips into threes and then braided them tightly. Once you get a few inches from the bottom, go ahead and tie a knot to secure your braid.

Step Six

Wrap the looped side of your scarf around your head twice. You will be left with a braid hanging down at your side and some extra fabric at the top of it. Now wrap the braid around your head and, using the extra fabric, tie a knot around the end of your braid. You can tuck this knot under the “spaghetti” portion of your scarf and allow the ends to hang down. You can even cut them to different lengths if you want to. Voila! You have a pretty braided T-shirt scarf!

Let me know if this makes sense! I know it’s a little more complicated than the last project. But I think it’s pretty cute!

7 Responses to “DIY Braided T-shirt Scarf”

  1. Kate Bartholomew 04/22/2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Laurie this is an awesome idea and maybe just in the nick of time for mother’s day gifts!! Thanks for sharing

    Kate Bartholomew

    • Katie Liquori 01/05/2012 at 10:45 am #

      Mine did not turn out like this! It is very skimpy… our shirts looked like the same size, but something definitely went wrong! :(

  2. Michelle 03/09/2012 at 4:30 pm #

    Thank you so much for posting this!!! I have been looking everywhere for this type of t-shirt scarf with braid. I was being told it was done a different way and it didn’t make sense to me because it wouldn’t allow for the braid to be long enough. This makes complete sense. So again, thank you!!!!!!

  3. Hi to all, as I am actually keen of reading this web site’s post too be upldated
    daily. It includes nice stuff.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Braided Scarf - 04/29/2011

    [...] DIY Braided T-shirt Scarf « Beauty Divine Wrap the looped side of your scarf around your head twice. You will be left with a braid hanging down at your side and some extra fabric at the top of it. Now wrap the braid around your head and, using the extra fabric, tie a knot . [...]

  2. DIY: Infinity T-Shirt Scarf and Braided T-Shirt Scarf | Hannah Watanabe - 01/14/2012

    [...] I made my strips 3/4″ instead of 1″. You can view Beauty Divine’s instructions here. I would suggest following their instructions, and I’m just going to include my pics [...]

  3. 24 Days of Christmas - Day 18 - Handmade Gifts Worth Giving - One Tough Mother - 01/02/2014

    […] by Homemade Serenity T-Shirt Scarf by Alana Taylor Here’s another tutorial by Beauty Divine I’m loving the scarves…think I’ll go make one today myself! See you […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

