DIY Hippie Flower Headbands

16 Jun

This week I did a really fun photo-shoot with these two twins in my youth group. They are so adorable and we had such a blast running around town taking “attitude” shots:) A few days before the shoot I was throwing together props and accessories that would look cute in the photos and got inspired to make a hippie flower headband. These are SO easy to make and they are selling for $15-$100 on Etsy. So here’s how you do it…

1. Pick up a silk flower that will lay pretty flat. They have them at most craft stores like Hobby Lobby or Michael’s usually for about $1. Mine is from Walmart and came with beads attached. If you’re really creative, you can even pick up some beads to sew/glue in the middle.

2. Now take a metal bobby pin (the heavy duty ones work best) and hot glue it to the back. If you want to hide the glue, you can also glue piece of felt to the back and slide the bobby pins through it.

3. The flower is cute enough on its own, but I think attaching a headband gives it more of that hippie look. I just grabbed a simple black elastic headband and slid it right into the bobby pins. These skinny headbands are really cheap at any drugstore and usually come in a set of different colors. I have about 20 of these laying around (from when I used to work out hahaha) and easily switch them out to match different outfits.

4. And that’s it! Just wear the headband in the middle of your forehead and slide the flower a little to the side. (I like to use it to hide my “bald spot” left from my bangs and weird hairline) It is also really cute to dress up an otherwise boring low ponytail. I’ve even seen a few brides wearing them with big elegant flowers over soft waves. And of course they are very fun for senior photo shoots…

I think she looked really adorable, don’t you?

3 Responses to “DIY Hippie Flower Headbands”

  1. Amy@NewNostalgia 06/16/2011 at 2:24 pm #

    way adorable. love this post. my girls want to make some!!

    • Susi Osmanson 06/16/2011 at 6:45 pm #

      Very cute….I wear stuff in my hair, but maybe I’m to old for this cute style. Maybe I could start a “granny trend” and be really hip….although, I might be made fun of, then I’d cry, Ha!!! Love ya, Aunt Susi

      • Laurie 06/27/2011 at 10:48 pm #

        Aunt Susi -You are not too old! I think you would look great in one and you definitely don’t qualify as a granny yet:)

        Amy – I can totally picture your girls in them. So cute.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

