DIY T-shirt Spaghetti Scarves!

19 Apr

(Photo credit)

Before you head to Goodwill with all of your old clothes after spring cleaning, stop and search through the bag for any old t-shirts. I kept a stack of mine and have been doing some really fun DIY projects with them.

The first one I’ll show you is the T-shirt Spaghetti Scarf pictured above! Isn’t it so cute?

It is very simple to make. Here’s how…

Step One

Find a medium or large t-shirt  in a color you like. I picked gray because I’m boring like that haha. (Note: Longer T-shirt = fuller scarf, Wider T-shirt = longer scarf. If you can find a Tee without side seams, that is even better.)

Step Two

Cut the shirt off right below the armpits and also cut off the bottom seam. It does not have to be a perfectly straight cut, but sharp scissors are always nice.

Step Three

Turn the shirt sideways and then cut it into strips (about 1/2 to 1 inch is good) but DO NOT cut them all the way off. You’ll want to cut up to about an inch of the top so that the strip are attached like the images below. They don’t need to be perfect, but you can use a ruler if you want to.

Step Four

Take each strip one at a time and stretch it. You shouldn’t have to pull very hard to get them to look like spaghetti. Keep in mind that the more you stretch it, the longer your scarf will be.

Step Five

Make the shirt back into a loop and wrap it around your head. You can wrap once for a long necklace look or twice for a short scarf look. Wrapping it twice is a good way to hide the seams if your t-shirt had them. You can also layer a few different colored scarves to change it up.

So easy, right?

Have fun making your scarves!

17 Responses to “DIY T-shirt Spaghetti Scarves!”

  1. mrscummingsrx 04/19/2011 at 11:07 am #

    This is so fun!!! I love it….very springy! Cute blog!

  2. Scarves 04/22/2011 at 6:09 am #

    There is one thing about scarves that separates them from most other pieces of clothing. Today everyone wants high quality stuff that can be used for multiple purposes. Scarves fit into this statement by all standards whatsoever.

  3. Marianne Aanderbakk 04/23/2011 at 9:46 am #

    Very cool. I think I will have to look through my stash and whip up one for today. I found you at New Nostalgia.

  4. Amy@NewNostalgia 04/25/2011 at 3:28 pm #

    you are featured at AP Tuesday! Love your blog, lady!

  5. marcy 04/26/2011 at 2:43 pm #

    I think I will give it a whirl! Great idea!

  6. T-Shirts Toronto 12/16/2011 at 11:38 am #

    Great idea since we all have so many old shirts.

  7. Jerry 04/04/2012 at 10:32 am #

    Have you ever had tshirt NOT turn into spaghetti ? I cut strips but they stayed just the same?!

  8. Amey 04/14/2012 at 11:28 am #

    I made myself one of these this morning, my 4 year old wanted to make one too. So we made one from a small Tee & he has had it tied round his head all day. I must say – he looks pretty cool!

  9. core exercises women 06/17/2013 at 4:27 pm #

    I every time used to read article in news papers but now as I
    am a user of web therefore from now I am using net for articles, thanks to web.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Braided T-shirt Scarf « Beauty Divine - 04/22/2011

    [...] Sounds like a lot of you had fun creating some t-shirt spaghetti scarves! When I stopped by goodwill to drop off my bag of clothes, I spotted a few Large t-shirts in great spring colors for only .49 cents! So I was inspired to do some more projects with them. One of which was this Braided T-shirt Scarf which is very similar to the Spaghetti T-shirt Scarf I showed you in this post. [...]

  2. Anti-Procrastination Tuesday #53 - 04/27/2011

    [...] DIY T-Shirt Spaghetti Scarves! @ Beauty Divine [...]

  3. Weekly Love : DIY Tutorials » Ashley Nicole Photographer - 06/30/2011

    [...] beautydivineblog.wordpress.com via Ashley on [...]

  4. DIY Braided T-shirt Scarf | Beauty Divine - 11/18/2011

    [...] Sounds like a lot of you had fun creating some t-shirt spaghetti scarves! When I stopped by goodwill to drop off my bag of clothes, I spotted a few Large t-shirts in great spring colors for only .49 cents! So I was inspired to do some more projects with them. One of which was this Braided T-shirt Scarf which is very similar to the Spaghetti T-shirt Scarf I showed you in this post. [...]

  5. DIY Braided T-shirt Scarf - 12/28/2011

    [...] got such huge positive response from the Spaghetti T-shirt Scarf I showed you in this postthat I decided to share [...]

  6. MOPS Craft: T-Shirt Scarf | Keeping up with the Moys - 10/23/2012

    [...] visual instructions, as well as different kinds of spaghetti scarves you can make! Walk in Love | Beauty Divine Design | 4 Little Fergusons | My Blessed [...]

  7. T-Shirt Scarf « Southwest Michigan Pin Builders - 11/15/2012

    [...] beautydivineblog.wordpress.com via Lindsay on [...]

  8. New Nostalgia – Anti-Procrastination Tuesday #53 - 05/10/2014

    […] DIY T-Shirt Spaghetti Scarves! @ Beauty Divine […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

